Business and Industry

University of Michigan



Detroit GHG Inventory Infographic


Leadership Positions

  • Greg Keoleian –  Member U. Michigan PCCN and Carbon Accounting Subcommittee Lead (2019 - 2021)
  • Greg Keoleian – President of International Society for Industrial Ecology  (2011-2012)
  • Shelie Miller – Director of Program in the Environment (2018 - )
  • Shelie Miller – Jefferson Science Fellow, National Academies of Sci., Eng., Med. (2016)
  • Tony Reames – Senior Advisor to DOE Office of Economic Impact & Diversity (2021 - )
  • Tony Reames – Governor Whitmer’s Climate Justice Braintrust (2021 - )
  • Tony Reames – Michigan Advisory Council for Environmental Justice, MAC EJ (2020)
  • Ming Xu – President Elect of International Society for Industrial Ecology (President 2023 - 2024)
  • Ming Xu – Editor in Chief of Resource Conservation and Recycling journal (2015)



  • Jose Alfaro – SWB Liberia team was finalist for the Energy Globe Award (2017)
  • Dominic Bednar – Fulbright Award to study energy in Chile
  • Greg Keoleian – Reuters Hot List for world’s top climate scientists (2021)
  • Tony Reames – Grist 50 list (2019)
  • Tony Reames –  JPB Foundation Environmental Health Fellow (2018 – 2020)
  • Ming Xu – American Society of Civil Engineers Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize (2021)
  • Ming Xu – Chinese-American Professors in Environmental Engineering and Science (CAPEES)/Nanova Frontier Research Award (2017)


Best Papers and Awards (2009 - 2021)

  •  "Life cycle assessment of emerging technologies: Evaluation techniques at different stages of market and technical maturity.” published in 2019 in Journal of Industrial Ecology received the Graedel Best Paper Prize. SHELIE MILLER
  • “The Environmental Consequences of Electrifying Space Heating”, published in Environmental Science & Technology in 2020, has been chosen as the second runner up of the ES&T Best Paper Award for Best Policy Article in 2020. PARTH VAISHNAV
  • “Widespread Range of Suitability and Cost Competitiveness of Electric Vehicles for Ride-Hailing Drivers” took FIRST place at the ISSST 2021 conference student presentation contest. MORTEZA TAIEBAT
  • “Greenhouse gas emissions and energy use associated with production of individual self-selected US diets.” Environmental Research Letters was chosen for Best Articles of 2018' prize. MARTY HELLER & GREG KEOLEIAN
  • Puerto Rico Master's Project team poster took 1st Place Blue Ribbon AND got a Green Award at the joint National Sustainability Summit & National Extension Energy Summit. MICHELLE FARHAT, JON PRUITT, DAVIED CORDERO, SELIM SARDAG & BRET FICKES
  • “Life Cycle Assessment of Connected and Automated Vehicles: Sensing and Computing Subsystem and Vehicle Level Effects” published in Environmental Science & Technology in 2018, has been chosen as the first runner up of the ES&T Best Paper Award for Environmental Policy. JIM GAWRON, GREG KEOLEIAN
  • "Life cycle energy and environmental performance of a new university building: modeling challenges and design implications" published in 2003 in Energy and Buildings received a Best Research Paper Award for 1998-2007. CHRIS SCHEUER, GREG KEOLEIAN, PETER REPPE
  • "Wireless Charger Deployment for an Electric Bus Network: A Multi-Objective Life Cycle Optimization" published in Applied Energy in 2018 for Best Papers in their top 3%. KEVIN BI, GREG KEOLEIAN
  • “Greenhouse Gas Emission Estimates of U.S. Dietary Choices and Food Loss” published in 2015 won the Journal of Industrial Ecology Best Paper Prize 2017 and the 2015 JIE Senior Author Best Paper Prize. MARTY HELLER, GREG KEOLEIAN
  • ​ ​Doubling Energy Efficiency at the University of Michigan by 2030​​, won top honors in AASHE Sustainability Awards 2016. JOHN DOOLEY, WHITNEY JOHNSON, DIVYESH KUMAR, BENJAMIN KUNSTMAN, KRISTIN STEINER, BRITTANY SZCZEPANIK, GREG KEOLEIAN

CSS 30 years logo